Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Hopefully retired.

I retired once a few years back, but got lured back to do one more project management.

I’d like to think I’d be writing more but somehow I doubt it. The rapid rise of AI, as I’ve blogged about a time or two, will replace most writers. That and falling education standards in the USA, UK and others, coupled with the rise of social media and the way that people increasingly do not care about the low standards of spelling and grammar in so much of what we read, creates an easier target for AI to achieve.

Soon you’ll be able to tell if a human wrote it because it does have errors and is poorly constructed, not the other way around.

AI generated pictures, video and speech will be indistinguishable from reality. And no one will care.

Couple this to the fact that the USA is bound to start a war with China within ten years as it’s the only way to maintain their economic supremacy. It won’t indefinitely, but it will delay the inevitable for about 20-30 years, by which time, those in charge will no longer care.

10 years time? I don’t see there being much joy in the world.

Leave a comment